Tall or Short. Both Have Problems

I am constantly on the receiving end of comments by short people about how I have it easy because I am so tall. I am not that much taller than most people. In fact people today seem to be generally taller than they were a few years ago.

There is a common misconception that tall people live life better than shorter people. There are just as many “hazards” for tall people as there are for short people. Sure I, as a taller person, can do certain things that a short person can’t, but there are things that I can’t do that a short person can. I can reach the top shelf in the kitchen without a stepladder and I can see over most of the people in front of me. Simple little things that are sort of added bonuses in life. Then there are the problems. Things like hitting my head on low beams and doors and getting hit in the lower regions by things that would have hit me in the stomach and hurt quite a lot less if i’d been shorter.

The biggest problem for tall people is rides. Small people complain that they are two short to get on all the good rides and tall people are lucky because they can go on all the rides. This is wrong. The only people who can ride the good rides properly are the people who are exactly the height of the line that says how tall you have to be to ride or the people who are within seven or eight inches taller than the line. Once you get to the point when you are taller than the sign itself, then you start to have problems. Then you start sitting in rides and have your knees touching your chin or your neck bent at a funny angle so your head fits in the ride.

Its easy for a small person to say “this seat is too big” or “these pants are too long”. Thats what cushions and sewing machines for. But what happens when the seat is too small or the pants are too short. I don’t think the technology has yet been invented to make pants longer.

I still wouldn’t want to be shorter though. As much as I complain, I still like being tall because people move out of the way when I walk through a crowd and less people want to fight me because they think because I’m so large that I’m actually stronger than them.

Oh, and I can make fun at shorter people.

  1. #1 by Lerato (@leratoxemnas) on May 16, 2013 - 15:31

    I understand your suffering man. I do. Being tall when the 90% of the population is not (I live in México) is a big problem, especially those that are ergonomy matters.

  2. #2 by E. Russon on August 23, 2010 - 22:48

    Don’t you dare!

Leave a comment