Why Is This So Difficult?

Why is there so much choice in the election for mayor? There are literally countless candidates. Sure you only hear about five or six and there usually ends up being two front runners but there are still others that you can vote for.

The federal and provincial elections are very simple. There are three main political parties (four if you count the green party, five in Quebec) and each one has a candidate in each riding. All you do is decide which party you like best (using your own criteria) and if you like the MP/MPP in your riding and then vote for them. The ballot only has five or six spots. Theses extras are usually independents or small parties like the Marijuana party. Its very simple.

The difference between that and a municipal election is that there are no political parties and therefore there can be as many people on the ballot as you can fit. I remember seeing one ballot that was a full size sheet of paper (8.5×11) that had three columns of names in 10 point font. Thats a lot of choice. Then you also have to vote for the city councilor in your ward (its the municipal word for your “voting area” or “riding”). This isn’t as bad because there are enough wards that the candidates are spread out to about six to ten per ward. But it still isn’t as easy because there is no easy way of finding out what their platform is apart from finding them yourself and asking. This will likely lead to a long winded lecture about principles and saving me money. Stuff I know they probably won’t do (I’m not saying they won’t try though).

I wish there was an easier way to pick the new mayor of Toronto. I can’t think of one but if anyone else can then please let me know.

, ,

  1. #1 by E. Russon on September 29, 2010 - 07:35

    Unfortunately, Will you have dunderheads running for mayor in Toronto..and out here for that matter. If I were you, I’d choose between Rossi and Ford. That’s if Rossi stays in the race. Pantalone will just keep the same old wheels greased, and Smitherman I wouldn’t trust with my wallet, let alone my tax money. Not after eHealth. The reason I don’t like Smitherman and it has nothing to do with politics? He let another man take the blame for his mistakes. He made Kaplan, who had been Health Minister for only a year, take the blame for eHealth, C Difficile and all the other blunders George had made. I think George knows where the bodies are buried. Why else does he seem to have immunity from any discussion in the press?

    • #2 by willpenman on September 29, 2010 - 14:30

      In my politics lecture the prof said “if i said “i’ll give you $1000 dollars if you don’t vote would you do it?”” and some people put their hands up and then he went kept raising the amount of money until he got to $10 million and most people had their hands up. I wouldn’t give up my vote although i would consider it if you offered me $10 million. but in this election i would take the money if i was offered because i honestly am not a fan of any of the candidates.

  2. #3 by Sanjeev Acharya on September 24, 2010 - 13:14

    Yea, the elections confuse me. THIS makes sense.

Leave a Reply

